The KBW shoe classification system: Saturday night shoes, Big lady shoes, Mummy shoes, Ugly shoes etc.

These are Saturday night shoes

These are Saturday night shoes

It’s great being in a hospital as there is an endless supply of gossip. Inevitably though, some of the gossip is going to be about you. I was disappointed recently to hear a story about me criticising a junior doctors shoes as being ugly. I have a certain fondness for shoes and as most of mummy life is spent in flat shoes, at work I wear what my children call “big lady shoes”.

These are the very pair of shoes that courted the comments. "Big lady shoes"

These are the very pair of shoes that courted the comments.  LK Bennett, same as Kate’s! 

Surgeons spend most of the day in scrubs and clogs so my heels and dresses are usually only on me for an hour at either end of the day in theatre, apart from the days I am in clinic and to be honest most of that is spent on my backside.

Theatre shoes. Extremely comfortable.

Theatre shoes. Extremely comfortable.

Back to the story; ugly shoes girl said to me (in the sort of tone that suggested I was wearing lap dancer shoes) “how can you walk in those heels all day? It can’t be good for you?” To which I replied “quite easily. I certainly couldn’t walk in your shoes”

Ugly shoes then said “oh really, why not?” KBW “Because I think they’re rather ugly”.

These are pretty close to the shoes that I did not fancy. Not even for gardening, not even for pig farming.

These are pretty close to the shoes that I did not fancy. Not even for gardening, not even for pig farming.

Now, I would never have commented on the shoes because what one wears is entirely a personal matter and each to their own multicoloured, clashing prints, spots with stripes preferences. She asked for the shoe comment with her nippy little jibe about how I can walk in heels all day and now I have the hospital wide reputation of being the shoe police. Ridiculous.

Mummy shoes

Mummy shoes

Stripper shoes

Stripper shoes

6 thoughts on “The KBW shoe classification system: Saturday night shoes, Big lady shoes, Mummy shoes, Ugly shoes etc.

  1. What is it about female surgeons and shoes?
    I just asked The Mister to take a peek at this post…he barely glanced at it. He thinks I’m constantly seeking validation for my shoe addiction 🙂

    • Haha. I love shoes. I think it’s because we have to be conservative with our work clothes. I am hunting for the perfect pair of brown winter boots just now. I bought a navy winter coat and now feel the black boots dont go with all that navy. How sad that a percentage of my brain is preoccupied with these things, boys just think about gastric node stations!

      • I wonder too…at times… would I be even better at my work if I cared less about such matters?
        I worry until I spot another pair of heels, or boots, or ballet flats… another pair which is very similar to something I already own, but yet…not quite the same…
        Another pair that I have to absolutely own!

        I have therefore convinced myself that I am not “wasting” any “brain- space” with thoughts of consumerism, I just have more storage capacity and I use a greater percentage of my brain’s capability!

        Haha, we are lost cases doc!

      • It is not watsed brain space. Men spend lots of time thinking about women, they are easily distracted by endless thoughts about legs and lips etc. I think shoe and handbag daydreams are essential, especially during lengthy operations that don’t involve you much! Nothing more boring than holding a camera for 5 hours. Happy shopping. Xx

      • LOL. Co- incidence- I held the camera for 4 hours today…. And did some contortionist moves, so as take pictures just as Mr Consultant wanted them to be!

Leave a Reply

