Management miss the point (again)

I was saddened recently to hear of the death of Kate Grainger, a doctor in palliative care who was also a blogger and campaigner for improved communication in hospital. She left a wonderful legacy in the form of her “Hello my name is” campaign. This involves all medical, nursing and support staff trying harder to always introduce themselves to patients. Bighospital, like other hospitals have been quick to adopt this brilliant idea and have issued everyone with badges that instead of saying just “Mrs KBW” they say “Hello my name is Mrs KBW”.

Which is quite clearly NOT THE POINT!!!

I have by some miracle avoided this badge and continue to introduce myself and my boss and my team, no matter how fucked off they all get with me doing it 30 times on a ward round

.

One thought on “Management miss the point (again)

  1. 👏🏻👏🏻Excellent post! Came home fuming after a day of lousy surgeries and now I’m rolling on the toilet floor laughing my a*s off !
    Im so sharing this with consultants !

Leave a Reply

